Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> New Hampshire

New Hampshire

Current Laureate:
Alexandria Peary

Start of Term:
October 23, 2019 (terms ends March 2024)

Position History:
Position established June 19, 1967; codified in Revised Statutes Annotated, Sec. 3-A:1-3. The poet is appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, from a list submitted by the Poetry Society of New Hampshire. The term of office is five years. Cynthia Huntington, who began her term in March 2004, resigned in 2005 after she moved to Vermont. Walter E. Butts passed away on March 31, 2013.

Previous Laureates:
Paul Scott Mowrer (September 1968-1971)
Eleanor Vinton (August 1972-December 1978)
Richard Eberhart (January 1979-January 1984)
Donald Hall (June, 1984-January 1989)
Maxine Kumin (March 1989-March 1994)
Jane Kenyon (January 1995-March 1999)
Donald Hall (December 1995-March 1999)
Marie Harris (October 1999-March 2004)
Cynthia Huntington (March 22, 2004-December 2005)
Patricia Fargnoli (January 2006-March 2009)
Walter E. Butts (March 31, 2009-March 2013)
Alice B. Fogel (November 2012-March 2019)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> New Hampshire
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  July 15, 2020
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian