Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Oregon


Current Laureate:
Kim Stafford

Start of Term
May 15, 2018

Position History:
Position established by the governor, April 23, 1923; adopted by Legislature in 1989 (Laws, 1989, Chap. 122, Sec. 1,2,3; Statutes, 1994 Supplement, Sec. 357.925). First laureate was Edwin Markham. The position began as a lifetime appointment, and remained such until William Stafford's tenure ended in August 1989.

In 2006, funds from the Oregon Cultural Trust "supported the reinstatement of Oregon’s poet laureate . . . and each laureate’s outreach as an ambassador of poetry across the state." The position was changed from a lifetime appointment to a two-year appointment, renewal for a second two-year term. Lawson Inada was the first Oregon Poet Laureate appointed under the new term limits.

Previous Laureates:
Edwin Markham (April 23, 1923-1931)
Ben Hur Lampman (February 20, 1951-1954)
Ethel Romig Fuller (1957-1965)
William Stafford (October 1975-August 1989)
Lawson Fusao Inada (February 17, 2006-2010)
Paulann Petersen (April 26, 2010-April 24, 2014)
Peter Sears  (April 25, 2014-April 26, 2016)
Elizabeth Woody (April 27, 2016-May 14, 2018)

Further Resources

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Oregon
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  June 14, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian