Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> South Carolina

South Carolina

Current Laureate:
Marjory Heath Wentworth

Start of Term:

Position History:
Position established 1934 (General Assembly Joint Resolution 736, 1934; Code of Laws, 2005, Sec. 1-3-230). The poet is appointed by the governor. The term of office is not fixed.

Previous laureates include:
Archibald Rutledge (1934-1973)
Helen von Kolnitz Hyer (1974-1983)
Ennis Rees (1984-1985)
Grace Freeman [PDF] (1985-1986)
Bennie Lee Sinclair (1986-2000)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> South Carolina
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian