Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Wisconsin


Current Laureate:
Margaret Rozga

Start of Term:
January 3, 2019

Position History:
Governor Tommy Thompson created a Poet Laureate Nominating Commission "in Executive Order 404, July 31, 2000, to recommend candidates for the poet laureate of Wisconsin. The 7 members were appointed to 4-year terms. Each of 5 organizations recommended one person for membership: the Council for Wis­consin Writers, the Wisconsin Fellowship of Poets, the Wisconsin Regional Writers Association, the Wisconsin Humanities Council, and the Wisconsin Arts Board. The governor directed the commission to recommend three candidates; assign responsibilities to the poet laureate; and assist that individual in performing official duties. The poet laureate is required to choose and lead one project that will contribute to the growth of poetry in this state subject to commission approval; plan and attend at least four statewide literary events each year; and perform in at least four government, state, and civil events as requested by the governor’s office, school systems, and literary organizations. Governor Thompson appointed Ellen Kort, of Appleton, to a four-year term in December 2000" (2001-2002 Wisconsin Blue Book, p. 338).

On February 4, 2011, The Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission received a form letter from the office of Gov. Scott Walker indicating that the commission would be abolished. In May 2011, the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters announced that it would steward the Wisconsin Poet Laureate program for as long was necessary to ensure its survival and support the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission. Bruce Dethlefsen continued to serve as Wisconsin Poet Laureate for a two-year term through 2012.

Previous Laureates:
Ellen Kort (appointed December 22, 2000-2004)
Denise Sweet (September 7, 2004-2008)
Marilyn L. Taylor (November 2008-2010)
Bruce Dethlefsen (January 1, 2011-December 31, 2012)
Max Garland (January 3, 2013-December 31, 2014)
Kimberly Blaeser (January 5, 2015-December 31, 2016)
Karla Huston (January 5, 2017-December 2018)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Wisconsin
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  January 16, 2019
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian