Library of Congress


The Library of Congress > Teachers > Classroom Materials > Collection Connections > The Aaron Copland Collection
Aaron Copland by candlelight. 1946

[Detail] Aaron Copland by candlelight. 1946


Collection Overview

The Aaron Copland Collection, ca. 1900-1990, documents the life and work of the "Dean of American Music". Included are music sketches Copland used to create works such as "Appalachian Spring" and "Fanfare for the Common Man". Users will also find correspondence with individuals such as Leonard Bernstein, Serge Koussevitzky, Nadia Boulanger and Benjamin Britten. Included as well are photographs, Copland's diaries and other writings and materials gathered as part of a 75th birthday tribute to this musician.

Special Features

These online exhibits provide context and additional information about this collection.

Historical Eras

These historical era(s) are best represented in the collection although they may not be all-encompassing.

  • Emergence of Modern America, 1890-1930
  • The Great Depression and World War II, 1929-1945
  • Postwar United States, 1945-early 1970s
  • Contemporary United States, 1968-Present

Related Collections and Exhibits

These collections and exhibits contain thematically-related primary and secondary sources. Also browse the Collection Finder for more related material on the American Memory Web site.

Other Resources

Recommended additional sources of information.

Search Tips

Specific guidance for searching this collection.

To find items in this collection, search by Keyword or browse by Notated Music, Writings, Correspondence, Photographs, Title Index or Works List.

For help with general search strategies, see Finding Items in American Memory.