Library of Congress


The Library of Congress > Teachers > Classroom Materials > Collection Connections > The Irving Fine Collection, ca. 1914-1962
Irving Fine, Tanglewood, 1956

[Detail] Irving Fine, Tanglewood, 1956


Collection Overview

The Irving Fine Collection, ca. 1914-1962, presents material that documents the life of this musical contemporary of Aaron Copeland and Leonard Bernstein. Included in the collection are photographs, scores, printed and unprinted lectures, program notes and scrapbooks. Users will also find correspondence with individuals such as Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copeland, Lukas Foss, Ned Rorem, and William Schuman. The Finding Aid for this collection is also included in the online presentation. Also included is a 1984 performance of Fine's 1952 String Quartet presented by the Julliard String Quartet at the Library of Congress.

Special Features

These online exhibits provide context and additional information about this collection.

Historical Eras

These historical era(s) are best represented in the collection, although they may not be ll-encompassing.

  • Emergence of Modern America, 1890-1930
  • The Great Depression and World War II, 1929-1945
  • Postwar United States, 1945-early 1970s

Related Collections and Exhibits

These collections and exhibits contain thematically-related primary and secondary sources. Browse the Collection Finder for more related material on the American Memory Web site.

Other Resources

Recommended additional sources of information.

Search Tips

Specific guidance for searching this collection.

To find items in this collection, search by Keyword or browse by Title, Subject, or Photographs. For help with general search strategies, see Finding Items in American Memory.