Top of page

Notated Music Beethoven's Adelaide

About this Item


  • Beethoven's Adelaide


  • Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827, composer
  • Liszt, Franz, 1811-1886, arranger of music

Created / Published

  • Leipzig : bei Breitkopf & Härtel, [1840?]


  • -  Piano music, Arranged
  • -  Songs--Instrumental settings


  • Scores
  • Instrumental settings
  • Arrangements (Music)
  • Art music


  • -  Originally for voice and piano; arranged for solo piano.
  • -  First edition of first version.
  • -  Printed from engraved plates.
  • -  Staff notation.
  • -  "A Madame la Marquise Martellini"--Caption.
  • -  Copy 2: Formerly a part of the Cedric Thorpe Davie Collection.


  • 1 score (15 pages) ; 33 cm

Call Number/Physical Location

  • M3.3 .L76 III.f.7 M38.5
  • M3.3.L77 A28 1840 Copy 2.
  • Microfilm 86/20,226 (Mus) Item 146 Microfilm.

Digital Id

Library of Congress Control Number

  • 2017569050

Online Format

  • image

Additional Metadata Formats

IIIF Presentation Manifest

Rights & Access

The Library of Congress is providing access to these materials for educational and research purposes and makes no warranty with regard to their use for other purposes. The written permission of the copyright owners and/or other rights holders (such as holders of publicity and/or privacy rights) is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may be content that is protected as "works for hire" (copyright may be held by the party that commissioned the original work) and/or under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.

Responsibility for making an independent legal assessment of an item and securing any necessary permission ultimately rests with persons desiring to use the item. Users should consult the bibliographic information that accompanies each item for specific information. This catalog data provides the details known to the Library of Congress regarding the corresponding items and may assist users in making independent assessments of the legal status of these items as related to their desired uses.

Items included here with the permission of the rights holders are indicated as such in the bibliographic record for each item.

In some cases, the Library was unable to identify a possible rights holder and has elected to place some of those items online as an exercise of fair use for strictly non-commercial educational uses. The Library of Congress would like to learn more about these materials and would like to hear from individuals or institutions that have any additional information or know of their history. Please contact:  Performing Arts Reading Room.

Suggested credit line: Library of Congress, Music Division.

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Liszt, Franz, Arranger Of Music. Beethoven's Adelaide. composeds by Beethoven, Ludwig Van, Oser [Leipzig: bei Breitkopf & Härtel, ?, 1840] Notated Music.

APA citation style:

Liszt, F. (1840) Beethoven's Adelaide. Beethoven, L. V., comp [Leipzig: bei Breitkopf & Härtel, ?] [Notated Music] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Liszt, Franz, Arranger Of Music. Beethoven's Adelaide. comp by Beethoven, Ludwig Van, Oser [Leipzig: bei Breitkopf & Härtel, ?, 1840] Notated Music. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.